ACAC Council-Certified Residential Mold Inspector-Mold Assessment

List of All Credentials
Search for Firms with Credential

Other Mold Credentials

A Council-certified Residential Mold Inspector (CRMI) A Council-certified Residential Mold Inspector (CRMI) locates and identifies mold as part of a home inspection. A CRMI conducts a mold inspection using industry standard sampling techniques and verifies the presence or absence of mold contamination. A CRMI provides an efficient screening to clear a property of microbial issues. A CRMI's report is therefore an important part of a real estate transaction. A CRMI does not perform mold remediation. When mold contamination is present, a CRMI can recommend a certified professional to develop and execute a mold remediation protocol.

A CRMI has verified knowledge of standards and sampling techniques used in real estate transactions. The CRMI examination covers standards published by the Indoor Environmental Standards Organization (IESO), an ANSI-accredited standards body. All candidates for the CRMI must demonstrate intensive knowledge of IESO standards governing mold inspection and home inspection.

The Indoor Air Quality Council launched the credential in 1999. In 2006, the Council discontinued membership services and focused exclusively on credential program. In 2008, the Council broadened its focus to other industries and changed its name to the American Council for Accredited Certification (ACAC). 

For healthy homes-related credentials, ACAC offers credentials in two broad categories: indoor environment and microbes. Microbes primarily consist of mold and bacteria. In the microbes category, ACAC offers six credentials:

  Contact information:

Hazard Control

Credential programs related to healthy homes but not assessment or hazard control.

  • There are no items at this time.