ACAC Council-Certified Microbial Claims Adjuster-Mold Assessment


List of All Credentials
Search for Firms with Credential

Other Mold Credentials

A Council-certified Microbial Claims Adjuster (CMCA) is an insurance adjuster with special expertise in mold claims. A CMCA can accurately determine the cause and extent of microbial damage involved in an insurance claim and make sure that such claims are properly handled.

A CMCA has verified knowledge in a range of disciplines related to indoor air quality and the building sciences. The CMCA examination covers the most respected texts in the field. Those who pass the exam must understand the scientific principles governing moisture control and indoor air quality. They must be familiar with current practices and standards affecting insurance adjusters who work with microbial issues. CMCAs must demonstrate at least two (2) years experience as insurance adjusters.
The Indoor Air Quality Council launched the credential in 1999. In 2006, the Council discontinued membership services and focused exclusively on credential program. In 2008, the Council broadened its focus to other industries and changed its name to the American Council for Accredited Certification (ACAC). 

For healthy homes-related credentials, ACAC offers credentials in two broad categories: indoor environment and microbes. Microbes primarily consist of mold and bacteria. In the microbes category, ACAC offers six credentials:

One caution:

Contact information:

Hazard Control

Credential programs related to healthy homes but not assessment or hazard control.

  • There are no items at this time.